English version

Solvation: Advances in Theory and Experiments (SolvATE)

SolvATE is a French network, funded by the Chemistry Institute of the CNRS, joining about forty Laboratories who share an interest in understanding solvation at a molecular level. One of the strengths of this network resides in its multidisciplinarity: theoreticians and experimentalists, chemists, physicists and engineers all expressed a strong motivation in building a playground for new collaborations and exciting projects.

Director: Francesca Ingrosso (Francesca.Ingrosso (at) univ-lorraine.fr), Deputy Director: Nacer Idrissi  (Nacer.Idrissi (at) univ-lille1.fr).
Administration and financial manager: Séverine Bonenberger (Severine.Bonenberger (at) univ-lorraine.fr).

NEWS: the next SolvATE meeting will take place in Paris this year (May 30-31)! Workshop website here.

Check out the job offers and scientific events by our members.

Research Themes

Theme 1. Solvents in chemistry; towards a sustainable future.

Developing fundamental research to clarify the effect of the solvent on chemical reactivity will open important perspectives for technological and industrial applications. The interaction of specialists in the field will bring out new strategies to respond to the societal needs for environmentally friendly processes.

Coordinators: Carine Clavaguéra and Thierry Tassaing.

Theme 2. Solvation and interfaces / surfaces, nanoconfined media.

The chemical processes taking place at interfaces / surfaces and in nanoconfined environments reveal specificities that can be used to design a new chemistry in solution. The presence in this network of researchers working in very diverse environments (from fundamental research in physics and chemistry to process development in the industrial context) is a key factor to promote interactions and the developement of new technologies. Indeed, many applications in the field of chemical engineering can be envisaged (distillation, extraction, development of new materials, electrochemistry).

Coordinators: Laurent Joly and Denis Morineau.

Theme 3. Solvation in systems of interest in the biological and pharmaceutical field and for food processing. From fundamental research to process design, the members of this group work to bring innovative insights into biological phenomena that are sensitive to the environment, to enable the development of biocompatible technologies and original analytical approaches.

Coordinators: Anne Milet and Frédéric Affouard.

Participating Laboratories and contacts

Contact Laboratory
Affouard UMET Lille
André LCPME Nancy
Bendeif CRM2 Nancy
Billard LEPMI Grenoble
Carrier et Humblot LRS Paris
Clavaguéra ICP Orsay
Corral Valero IFP Energies Nouvelles
Coudert IRCP Paris
Delaye LCLT@CEA Marcoule
Djukic IC Strasbourg
Dumarcay-Charbonnier L2CM Nancy
Dupont ICB Bourgogne
Filhol ICGM Montpellier
Fleurat-Lessard ICMUB Bourgogne
Gaigeot LAMBE Evry
Hazemann NEEL Grenoble
Idrissi LASIR Lille
Ingrosso LPCT Nancy
Jacquemin CEISAM Nantes
Joly ILM Lyon
Lagrost ISC Rennes
Legrand IG Paris-Sud
Lerbret PAM Dijon
Levesque PASTEUR Paris
Malikova PHENIX Paris
(moved to LOF)
LGC Toulouse
Michel LC ENS Lyon
Milet DCM Grenoble
Morineau IP Rennes
Padua (moved to Lyon). Current contact : Andanson IC Clermont Ferrand
Pagès LCP-A2MC
Papaiconomou IC Nice
Paquin ISC Rennes
Piquemal LCT Paris
Réal PHLAM Lille
Schurhammer CMC Strasbourg
Sirjean LRGP Nancy
Stirnemann LBT Paris
Szymczyk ISC Rennes
Tassaing ISM Bordeaux
Vigier IC2MP Poitiers
Vitrac AgroParisTech Massy

Participating Institutions, January 2018: CNRS, Université Lille1, Université de Lorraine, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Université de Paris Sud, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris, Université de Bourgogne, Université de Montpellier, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Montpellier, Université d’Evry Val D’Essonne, Université de Cergy-Pontoise, Université Grenoble Alpes, Université de Nantes, AgroSup Dijon, École Normale Supérieure de Paris, Institut National Polytechnique de Toulouse et Université Paul Sabatier, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon et UCBL, Université Rennes 1, Université Clermont Auvergne et École SIGMA Clermont, IFP Energies Nouvelles, Université de Strasbourg, Université de Bordeaux, CEA Saclay, Université de Poitiers, INRA, AgroParisTech, INSA, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Rennes.